Learning Through Fun

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


Link to the Early Years Foundation stage EYFS

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is mandatory for all OFSTED registered settings and schools caring for children under the age of 5. The EYFS comprises four themes which guide the work of all early years practitioners: -

A Unique Child – every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive relationships – children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person

Enabling Environments – the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development – children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

Characteristics of effective learning

In our commitment to the unique child, we are interested in observing not only what a child learns but also how a child learns.  This gives us an insight in to what activities promote your childrens natural learning pattern and also which activities could give opportunities for new ways of learning.  We group ways of learning in to 3 main areas:

Playing & exploring

Active learning

Creating and thinking critically